random selection

Waking up in a friend’s bed on Saturday morning (next to my darling hubby, while friend slept with her own hubby on the futon in the lounge – cool friend, eh), I had to take a peek into the books on her headboard shelf. A couple of chapters of each. And definitely will return to all of them if I can find them.

A Year in Provence. forgotten the author already. written in the 70s I think.

Bono on Bono. not written by Bono though.

Eats, Shoots and Leaves. now was there a comma in the title or not? seriously hilarious book.
Said friend warned you’d either love it or hate it. “Why would you hate it?” I wanted to know. “If you didn’t get it.” Within a couple of sentences I understood what she meant and she was right. I fell headlong into the *loved it* category. If only the weekend had been longer. Friend might have managed to read the whole thing out to me 😉

But she read giant portions of Blue Like Jazz too. That resonated with me as well. At least, the bits she read out did. Raw honesty. Again, no author in my brain. Maybe Don Someone.

This entry was posted in ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to random selection

  1. mixednutts says:

    Oh, I loved Eats, Shoots, and Leaves, too! I put the comma, but, being an American, I’m comma-happy. LOL! I’ve not read the others, but Eats was great. 🙂

  2. Sharonnz says:

    Donald Miller – my old copy;-)

  3. katie says:

    can’t remember where oh where i stashed that seriously dog-eared book.
    (the Blue Like Jazz one)
    was caught reading Provence out loud to BD in the loo today by our neighbour… the part about going wine tasting!!!
    (oh and i notice you haven’t written about any other books that were inadvertently hiding on my headboard rofl) X

  4. Rach says:

    Try the kitchen bench!!!!!LOL
    TBH, I didn’t bother reading Sigma Mathematics;-)

  5. katie says:

    I didn’t bother reading Sigma Mathematics;-)

    methinks that’s because you’re already the expert….
    well, there’s proof that you’re 60% experter than me…
    lol
    mwah X

  6. katie says:

    oh, i found the book!!! YAY.
    under the futon.
    soz the pattern hasn’t turned up here X

  7. Rachael says:

    I cna’t believe you moved the futon already. (It would have taken me another 12 months to clean under that!!!!!!!)

Leave a Reply

