quote (and confess)

Never read a book through merely because you have begun it.
~ John Witherspoon

I began Thomas Bulfinch’s “Age of Chivalry”, because it was on so many good-books-reading-lists that I had added it to our own canon without reading it myself first. So I thought I should.
But I didn’t really enjoy it (at least, not the first half, which is all I read a month ago before putting it aside for half a dozen other preferences). Maybe I’m a bit over castle-classics, having dwelt in the Middle Ages / Renaissance / Reformation / 1600s and beyond period for the past four years or so. Or maybe I just enjoyed Howard Pyle’s Robin Hood and “Otto of the Silver Hand” more. Or Rosemary Sutcliff’s “Brother Dustyfeet” and her “Chronicles of Robin Hood”. Or George Alfred Henty’s “Winning His Spurs” and “St George for England”….and they are but a few of the chivalric books we have enjoyed…..so if we’ve loved them, do we need to plod through Bulfinch? I’m going to, just to see if it improves, but at this point in time I suspect I will be removing it from our list.

This entry was posted in history, literature, quote, review, think think think. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

