handbook of nature study

Recently we purchased Anna Comstock’s tome, A Handbook of Nature Study.

Although I first became aware of it many years ago (and indeed, it was first published even before my grandparents were born), it has taken until now to actually buy it. I wish I had got it sooner. Not being too keen on critters for myself, I rather hoped none of my kids would show any signs of interest in them 😉 It was not to be, so I got over myself and tried to foster their interest. I encouraged them to pick the things up, to observe closely, to ask questions, to look for answers, to even bring them inside! To compensate for my total lack of knowledge, we employed some experts, primarilly through their field guides. Firstborn Son tracked down one of the authors, exchanged letters, met in person and subsequently joined the local Entomological Society. At the tender age of seven, he was the youngest member ever.
When his questions were about kiwi, he rang the Arataki Information Centre. When they had no answers, he called the zoo. 
At the height of his “bee stage” he was delighted to spend an afternoon helping a local apiarist extract honey from his hives. Said apiarist was most impressed at son’s hand crafted bee-keeping gloves and origami smoker!
One day I watched our lad observing a tui on a branch. For well over twenty minutes he lay there, just looking and listening. It is no wonder he knows more than I do about the natural world. He takes the time to take it all in. He is passionate about it.

I wouldn’t mind knowing a bit more, and Comstock’s book was written for the likes of me with virtually no prior experience (although she does assume everyone will have access at least to LIVE poultry at the market – I guess she would never have imagined some day chickens would come to our houses in sealed plastic bags). The book is dauntingly thick, but completely accessible. Just flicking through the pages has me saying, “Oh do they really? WOW I never knew that!”

I’m currently contemplating HOW I might use the book. Without a doubt it is not one to be read in one sitting – or even one year I suspect. I’m pretty sure it will need slow digestion. I was thinking I might dip into bits here and there according to the seasons, read up a paragraph or two and then conversation my way through the material with the children.
Then I came across this blog http://handbookofnaturestudy.blogspot.com/
I like it. I’m wondering if that firstborn son might be interested in doing something similar, something for southern hemisphere folks who have their seasons upside-down. With a wee bit of encouragement he might take on the role of “Family Nature Study Leader” and record our exploits online.

Or maybe we’ll just dip into the book. You can too, here, if you like.

This entry was posted in review, science. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to handbook of nature study

  1. Naomi says:

    I love this book. I only got it last year, but have enjoyed it thoroughly.

  2. Naomi says:

    we use the book as a reference guide to learn more about plants and animals that we discover in our backyard.

Leave a comment